Skip to content

When Getting Fired Is the Best Career Move

"ken sundheim"

I don’t believe most businesses are planned. At least, KAS Placement (my business) wasn’t.
There were certain seeds that were planted almost unbeknownst to me at the time, but hindsight shows that they were truly crucial to my career, the careers of the employees at KAS, and those of our job seekers and our clients.

During college I took an unpaid internship at a brokerage house where I was assigned a cold-call list (from where, I do not know) of VPs at companies in Florida.

My job was purely to see if one of the Series 7 brokers at our firm might send them out some equity research and follow up with them a month later.
Within a week and a half, I got to the point of stirring up enough interest from these people to pass them directly to a broker rather than having to wait that month‚ sort of like that movie “Boiler Room“, just not as cool.
Natural Salesman

 

Selling was a natural practice for me. Within a month, that unpaid internship turned paid, about $13 an hour, which was pretty good for me being the only paid intern in the office.

 

Within two years, my boss there was my own stockbroker. After the financial internship, I took an internship at a great company by the name of FivePoints Compliance in New York’s Chinatown.

 

This was three years after the Dot Com bubble burst, and the tech office complex we worked in was half empty. With a corporate gym only half full of equipment that wasn’t properly cleaned, the whole building had a Boulevard of Broken Dreams feel.

 

FivePoints was great, as they paid me $15 an hour plus commissions, taught me to use a basic CRM system, and gave me a more business-to-business understanding of cold-calling and inside sales. Within a month, I landed a 3 year / $18,000 deal from a cold-call.

 

But even given the experience and the money (which was a lot for a college kid), the absolute best part about working at FivePoints was the people. It was a small company and I got to see how a small company operated. The takeaways I got from simply analyzing their business model was worth well over the $15/hour.

I was all set to stay there after graduation until I was offered an outside sales job for $45,000 by a company based out of the Midwest. I would be working remotely, from home, and making calls around their New York City territory.

 

What they did, interest-wise, was on par with selling tickets to watch paint dry, but since they were paying so relatively much, why not?

 

Ironically, it was during this interview and offer process that I first came in contact with a recruiter. I had no idea what or who the person was or what a recruiter was.

 

She kept setting up appointments for me to interview with this company, which I found confusing because she did not work for this company and was only in the office three days a week.

 

Either way, I took the job and within three or four days, I realized that I made a big mistake. I don’t know if they hated their shareholders or what the deal was, but their business plan was just plain awful. In short, they were convinced that paper goods were the future.

 

As it happens, over the next five years, their stock went from $55 a share to nearly $7 — and we aren’t talking about an investment bank here. I spent the majority of my time at the firm writing letters to the CEO regarding how things could be improved.

 

Thinking he would never listen to a 24 year old, I mostly threw them in the recycle bin. As I remember, they were good business plans for a 24 year old.

 
How Headhunters Should Recruit VP of Sales
 
Reasons Why American Job Seekers Are Losing Their Employment Advantage
 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

