Skip to content

When Young Entrepreneurship Can Almost Be a Killer

About a year and a half ago, as a young entrepreneur I began pouring disgustingly large amounts of money into my firm knowing that it would pay off. However, at that exact time, the job market hit a miserable low and, sure enough I got a phone call telling me that I had $500 in my bank account.

 

To give you a breakdown, I have two offices in New York City, an apartment in New York City, employees, a Siamese cat named Tarot and, as I thought of the possibility of losing everything, I began to get dizzy and a piercing pain started to trickle down my back.

 

At the time, I did have a lot in accounts receivable, but I wasn’t going to walk into a bank sick to my stomach attempting to factor receivables when I knew nothing of the topic.

 

So, the first thing that I put my mind to was not to let my employees realize my state of mind. Despite growing pain from stress, I could not show it in speech or body language. This sort of composure allowed me to determine that having no debt, I could live off both my corporate and personal credit cards until things evened out.

 

Since my mentor, Harvey Cohen died of pancreatic cancer years back, I had to turn my next best friend – reading. I kindly asked my Managing Director, Alison and Senior Recruiter and confidant, Gracie that I needed a few hours and to keep the troops at bay.

 

It was in that 120 minutes that I learned yoga because acupuncture is reserved for those with positive bank accounts and began reading about those who had issues that put mine in perspective. Winston Churchill ended up taking the cake.  The Day Entrepreneurship Almost Killed Me Continued 

 

 

KAS Placement is an executive search firm helping recruit VP of sales and recruiting marketing managers throughout the United States including San Francisco headhunters

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

